Eric Kirk Memorial Award

2019 Eric Kirk Memorial Award winner Amanda Bryce with Dean Schulze

2019 Eric Kirk Memorial Award winner Amanda Bryce with Dean Schulze

Eric Kirk was a pharmacist with visionary ideas, a capacity to inspire others and the will and know- how to bring those ideas to reality. His work was a major influence on the way pharmacists saw themselves as health care professionals and led them to embrace continuing education and professional development – new concepts in his time. His foresight, drive and leadership brought about the introduction of Ward Pharmacy to WA hospitals which led directly to the development of Clinical Pharmacy practice across the profession.

“Drug Information Centre” and “therapeutic drug monitoring” were terms which became well known in practice due to Eric’s unrelenting representations which also achieved the profession’s acceptance of the significance of health promotion as a part of pharmacy practice.

In recognition of the outstanding contribution made to the development of professional practice in pharmacy in Western Australia by this former President, the Society provides the Eric Kirk Memorial Award.

This annual award is the Society’s most prestigious recognition of members who have made an outstanding contribution to the development of professional practice.

Nominations are now open for the Eric Kirk Memorial Award 2020

Download nomination form

Nominations close 11 November 2019


Previous winners of the Erick Kirk Memorial Award — 

2019 — Amanda Bryce

2018 — Peter Custance

2017 — Pascale Ng Cheong Tin

2016 — Professor Rhonda Clifford      

2015 — Michael Dillon

2014 — Penelope Tuffin

2013 — Professor Kevin Batty

2012 — Deirdre Criddle

2011 — Michael Cain

2010 — Gladys Heedes

2009 — Professor Bruce Sunderland

2008 — Professor Jeffery Hughes

2007 — Associate Professor Malcolm Roberts

2006 — Suzanne Burrows

2005 — Kevin McAnuff

2004 — Graham Greenhill

2003 — Constantine Berbatis