Our Board

The Board of the Pharmaceutical Society of Western Australia comprises the following members —


DS copy.jpg
RS copy.jpg

Dean Schulze – Chair

Dean has been elected Chair of the Board of PSWA. He has been a director of Pharmaceutical Defence Limited since 2006 and was elected Chairman in 2011. Dean is also a director of Brude Holdings Pty Ltd. He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Dean is community pharmacy proprietor.

Richard Smirk – Deputy Chair

Richard is a community pharmacist and pharmacy proprietor with 30 years experience and is also the Pharmacy Professional Officer for the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency in W.A. He is a Pharmacy Board of Australia examiner and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

CS copy.jpg
RB copy.jpg

Celia Sansom

Celia is a community pharmacist who has practised in Australia and overseas in the area of implementation of professional service models.  She has previously served as the Manager of Training Programmes at PSWA co-ordinating the intern training programme. Celia is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Robert (Bob) Brennan – Co-opted Board Member

Bob Brennan was the Registrar of the Society for 23 years and is an Honorary Member of the Society. He was instrumental in the planning and preparation for the devolution of the Society from its statutory roles to a professional services organisation. Bob provides an in-depth knowledge of the organisational structure of the Society and was co-opted as a Board Member at the April 2014 meeting in accordance with the Constitution.

RC copy.jpg
PN copy.jpg

Professor Rhonda Clifford

Rhonda Clifford is an academic pharmacist with a passion for teaching and mentoring the next generation of pharmacists.  She is currently the Head of School, Allied Health at the University of Western Australia.  She believes that good quality pharmacy-based research is crucial to informing the future of pharmacy.

Pascale Ng Cheong Tin

Pascale was a community pharmacy proprietor for ten years before she joined Curtin University where she taught Clinical Pharmacy for twelve years. During that time, she supervised a number of Honours and Masters Research projects.  She now holds a part-time position as a Professional Services pharmacist with Pharmacy 777. She is also a pharmacist immuniser practising in community. She is the 2017 winner of the prestigious Eric Kirk Memorial Award.

Screen Shot 2019-01-10 at 9.03.51 am.jpg

Joanne Cruickshank

Joanne is a community pharmacist and past pharmacy proprietor. She also has over 25 years experience as a Director of private companies and superannuation funds specialising in commercial and residential property investment and share portfolio management.  Joanne has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Western Australia and was co-opted as a Board member at the November 2018 meeting in accordance with the Constitution.

Board Protocol 

The Board of the PSWA has developed a protocol that outlines the responsibilities, expectations and rights of members of the Board in terms of their performance and conduct.

The protocol also describes matters of governance and outlines the role of the chairman in leading the Board.

The Board has adopted this powerful document that binds all current and future members of the Board in both letter and spirit —